May 13, 2024

The Office of Professional Practice of Nursing is one of four recipients honored by the Missouri Hospital Association

MU Health Care’s Office of Professional Practice of Nursing was honored as “Nursing Team Champions” by the Missouri Hospital Association, in celebration of National Nurses Week, May 6-12, and National Hospital Week, May 12-18.

The Office of Professional Practice of Nursing supports system-wide programs that help our more than 2,600 nurses collaborate, communicate and grow professionally to provide the highest quality of care for our patients.

“It’s an honor to be recognized for the work we are doing to help our nurses work at the top of their scope of practice,” said Sean Pridgeon, director, nursing professional practice. “Here at MU Health Care, we not only care for patients as nurses, but we also advance the profession of nursing through research, evidence-based practice, grants, policy, advocacy, professional development and accreditation.”

In addition to Pridgeon, the following team members were recognized: Amanda Ferreiro, magnet coordinator; Angie Cornelius, coordinator of professional development and patient education; Renae McIntosh, coordinator of nursing Research; Amanda Schibi, coordinator of policies, procedures, protocols; Tatiana Mays, business support coordinator; and Susan D. Scott, PhD, nurse scientist and adjunct associate professor.

The Missouri Hospital Association is a nonprofit organization that represents every acute care hospital in the state, as well as most of the federal and state hospitals, rehabilitation centers and psychiatric care facilities.

Several MU Health Care nurses were nominated as a Nurse Champion of Care: Jessica Hoehne, neuroscience clinical manager; Karen Butkievich, a Progressive Care Unit nurse; and Lauren St. Onge, an emergency charge nurse. The Complex Transition of Care Team was also nominated for Health Care Team Champion,

The Office of Professional Practice of Nursing is one of four honorees recognized by the Missouri Hospital Association as 2024 #MoHospitals Champions of Care.